//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Spare Me Of The Unwated Advice


“Do this”

“Do that”

“See what he did”

“Ask her for advice”

“He did that”

“She achieved this”

Isn’t this all we hear when we are down.No matter how messed up someone’s own life is,they just don’t leave an opportunity to take a dig at you when you are down.Acting as if their “advice” is going to help you,when all it does in reality is make you more conscious,more disconcerted,even more annoyed and indignant.As if the barrage of things going against you weren’t enough,you now also have to go through their little futile talks every time you are near them.And this results in you going inside that shell of yours trying to dodge the situations somehow.

It just amazes me how boorish people can get.Even your closed ones.I mean,we humans differ from all other animals in the fact that we can actually feel what others are going through even when we ourselves haven’t experienced it.Empathy…isn’t that what we are all about?What separates us.Makes us unique.

We don’t need someone to point their predicaments to us.Its just all through the mind.The posture,the tone,the eyes,the body language of others help us detect that.Its just psychic.And it shocks me to find that people either have lost it or have stopped using that.

I for one,and in no way am I bragging,can proudly say that I have this quality of understanding what the people around me are going through.Of being supportive.And I guess this is why it torments me even more when I don’t get that back in return.Especially when it comes from the people who have known me the most.Who know that eventually things will turn out well for me.

I accept that maybe I am being a bit cynical here but that’s just the truth and I had to say this.If you love someone,then support him/her when they are down and if you can’t do that then at least don’t try to help them with your “expert” opinions unless asked for.Because these little opinions of yours sure as hell aren’t going to help them get any better either.

About Epizeuxis

Blogger , Guitarist , Altruist , Athlete, Sophist ... these all describe me... But what all these symbolize is my desire to be able do all the things which life has to offer and constantly grow as an individual...

Discussion

13 thoughts on “Spare Me Of The Unwated Advice

  1. Sometimes: nothing’s gonna be all right. Lick your bruises.Limp your way ahead. Move on.
    bdw I choose to spare you of one unwa(n)ted advice πŸ˜‰

    Posted by Apoyando | October 20, 2011, 5:51 am
  2. Yes, wise advice here. Best thing is to be available to help at their behest.

    Posted by Carl D'Agostino | October 24, 2011, 8:46 pm
  3. Being not heard and empathized with can be a good thing too. It forces you to be more self-reliant and a stronger person. It is difficult, yes, but we cannot force the people around us to be what they are not.

    Posted by fforhire | October 25, 2011, 4:39 am
  4. I think how the intent of the advice is taken depends a lot on the relationship between the people. If it’s a strained relationship, then the advice is seen as meddling. If it is a close, friendly relationship, it’s seen as one’s point of view and offense isn’t taken.

    I have been known to share my views if the person seems receptive, but the decision is theirs…and their choice has no bearing on me. I hope I haven’t unintentionally offended someone πŸ™‚

    Posted by jannatwrites | October 25, 2011, 7:13 am
    • That’s quite true Jannat. But sometimes we do hurt people unintentionally.And yeah that’s what I am saying…Advice only when the person is receptive and needs the advice.An unwanted advice is going to help neither party. πŸ™‚

      Posted by Epizeuxis | October 26, 2011, 7:58 pm
  5. I believe that most people mean well; they just don’t realize that talking about themselves doesn’t help.

    Posted by Maxi | October 25, 2011, 12:58 pm
  6. Cynical is necessary my friend! If more people shared your point of view the world would be a better place and you wouldn’t have to be so cynical in the first place! Ironic, right?

    Posted by The Hook | December 1, 2011, 12:41 pm

Leave a Reply

About Epizeuxis

An Infrequent blogger, amateur guitarist , Altruist and a Sophist with a desire to be able do all the things which life has to offer and constantly grow as an individual.

Blog Stats

  • 3,984 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

